Ministry of Education (MoE), Govt. of India has established ‘MoE’s Innovation Cell (MIC)’ to systematically foster the culture of Innovation among all Higher Education Institutions (HEIs). The primary mandate of MIC is to encourage, inspire and nurture young students by supporting them to work with new ideas and transform them into prototypes while they are informative years.

MIC has envisioned encouraging creation of ‘Institution’s Innovation Council (IICs) across selected HEIs. A network of IICs are established to promote innovation and entrepreneurship in the Institution through multitudinous modes leading to an innovation promotion ecosystem in the campuses. MIC has established Institution’s Innovation Council in more than 2700 Institutions till December 2021.

Major Focus
  • To create a vibrant local innovation ecosystem.
  • Start-up supporting mechanism in HEIs.
  • Prepare institute for Atal Ranking of institutions on innovation achievements framework.
  • Establish function ecosystem for scouting ideas and pre-incubation of ideas.
  • Develop better cognitive ability among students.
Function of IIC
  • To conduct various Innovation, IPR and entrepreneurship-related activities prescribed by MIC in time bound fashion.
  • Identify and reward innovations and share success stories.
  • Organize periodic workshops/ seminars/ interactions with entrepreneurs, investors, professionals and create a mentor pool for student innovators.
  • Network with peers and national entrepreneurship development organizations.
  • Create an Institution’s Innovation portal to highlight innovative projects carried out by institution’s faculty and students.
  • Organize Hackathons, idea competition, mini-challenges etc. with the involvement of industries.
IIC Members
S.No. Name Designation Role E-mail Mobile numbers
1. Dr.K.Sivasankari Professor President sivasankari@acetcbe.edu.in 9894733043
2. Dr.S.Kapilan Professor Vice-President kapilan@acetcbe.edu.in 9894880805
3. Mrs.K.Nimisha Assistant Professor Convener nimisha@acetcbe.edu.in 7811976861
4. Dr.S.Jothi Lakshmi Professor Innovation Activity jothilakshmi@acetcbe.edu.in 9965760854
5. Mr.P.A.Edwin Fernando Assistant Professor IPR Activity Coordinator civiledwin@gmail.com 9865148809
6. Mr.V.Mohankumar Assistant Professor President mohankumar@acetcbe.edu.in 9952898270
7. Mr.D.Balachandar System Administrator Social Media Coordinator chand21121@gmail.com 9524285510
8. Dr.A.Karthik Teaching Start-up Activity Coordinator akarthik@acetcbe.edu.in 9003678149
9. Mr.N.Suresh & Mr.P.Sathish Teaching Innovation and Entrepreneurship Development Centre nsuresh@acetcbe.edu.in 9715535631
10. Mr.S.Balaji Teaching Internship Coordinator balaji@acetcbe.edu.in 9381882310
11. Mr.Sevugan Rajesh Teaching Member sevuganrajesh@acetcbe.edu.in 8883782533
12. Ms.Rishaba Laxmi Teaching Member rishabalaxmi@acetcbe.edu.in 7092134453
IIC Student Members
S.No. Name E-mail Discipline Role Year
1. Vasudevan.S.V 20ec031@acetcbe.edu.in ECE Internship Coordinator 4
2. Vidhya Bharathi.J 20ec032@acetcbe.edu.in ECE Member 4
3. SriKrishnan.P 20ec030@acetcbe.edu.in ECE Internship Coordinator 4
4. Kalaiselvi.M 20ec016@acetcbe.edu.in ECE Social Media Coordinator 4
5. Prabu.M 20ec024@acetcbe.edu.in ECE Internship Coordinator 4
6. Karthikapriya.M 20ec018@acetcbe.edu.in ECE Start-up Coordinator 4
7. Meenalochani.M 20ec021@acetcbe.edu.in ECE Innovation Coordinator 4
8. Mouni Shree.H 20ec023@acetcbe.edu.in ECE Member 4
9. Madhumithra.M 20ec019@acetcbe.edu.in ECE Innovation Coordinator 4
10. Mohammed Aslam.A 20ec022@acetcbe.edu.in ECE Startup Coordinator 4
11. Thomson Malphilo.R 20mc014@acetcbe.edu.in MECHATRONICS Startup Coordinator 4
12. Aswini.S 20mc002@acetcbe.edu.in MECHATRONICS IPR Coordinator 4
13. Azhagarsamy.P 20mc003@acetcbe.edu.in MECHATRONICS Internship Coordinator 4
14. Athithya.P 20cs002@acetcbe.edu.in CSE Innovation Coordinator 4
15. Bommeeswari.N 20cs006@acetcbe.edu.in CSE Innovation Coordinator 4
16. Sakthimahendran.G 20cs033@acetcbe.edu.in CSE Internship Coordinator 4
17. Selvaprakash.P 20cs037@acetcbe.edu.in CSE Innovation Coordinator 4
18. Varshini.N 20cs043@acetcbe.edu.in CSE IPR Coordinator 4
19. Balvannanathan.A 19cs004@acetcbe.edu.in CSE Social Media Coordinator 4
20. Jeevika.J 19cs014@acetcbe.edu.in CSE Startup Coordinator 4
21. Mohankumar.P kmoha5793@gmail.com MECH Innovation Coordinator 4
22. Aadheeswaran.S 20me009@acetcbe.edu.in MECH Member 4
IIC Events
S.No. IIC Activities/Council meeting Keynote Speaker Date Participants Quarter
1. First Council Meeting Dr.K. Sivasankari,Principal,ACET. 05.10.22 All Council members 1
2. Workshop on “Entrepreneurship and Innovation” as Career Opportunity Dr.K.Muralisankar,Founder & chief Visionary officer of Yardstick Digital Solutions & Yardstick Training Academy 07.11.22 I Year 1
3. My Story – Motivational Session by Successful Entrepreneur/Start-up founder Mr.S.Muthuraman,Managing Partner,Lakshmi Ceramics 03.11.22 II, III and IV Year 1
4. Exposure and field visit for problem identification Aliyar Dam I Year 1
5. Session on Problem Solving and Ideation Workshop RTR.N.S.Kavya,District Trainer designate 9-11-2022 &10-11-22 I Year 1
6. Inter/Intra Institutional Innovation Competition/Challenge/Hackathon and Reward Best Innovations – Manage through YUKTI-NIR Prof.J.Sevugan Rajesh,AP/ECE Prof.N.Suresh,AP/Mecht,Dr.A.Karthik,AP/Mecht 27.2.2022 All departments II
7. Workshop on Design Thinking, Critical thinking and Innovation Design Dr.Karuppasamy Ramanathan, Professor & Internationally accredited trainer, Firebird Institute of Research in Management 20.2.23 All departments II
8. Organizing Innovation & Entrepreneurship Outreach Program in Schools/Community Prof.P.Sathish,AP/Mech,Akshaya College of Engineering & Technology 10.2.23 School Students II
9. National Science Day Mr.Vignesh Manickam,HR Director-India a Calcium 28.2.23 I Year II
10. National Youth Day Mr.Antony Jeyendran,Structural Consultant,SPACE MATRIX-Chennai 12.1.23 Civil department students II
11. National Energy Conservation Day(India) Mr.P.Anbazhagan,CEO,MAS Solar Systems Pvt Ltd., Coimbatore 19.12.23 ECE Department Students II
12. Intra College Quiz Competition Prof.Pon Rathnavel,Assistant Professor/Civil,ACET 17.09.22 Civil Department Students I
13. IEDC Club Activity Prof.P.Sathish, 6.10.22 IEDC Student Members I
14. Creativity and Team work Mr.A.T.Khumaravelu,Founder,Beagles Corp 11.10.22 I Year I
15. Workshop on Goal Setting Prof.Pon Rathnavel,Assistant Professor/Civil,ACET 17.10.22 I Year I
16. Webinar on Patent FIling Mr.Nirmalaya Sinha,Jt.Controller of Patents & design,RGNIIPM Nagpur 10.10.22 All Departments I
17. Workshop on Entrepreneurship Skill, Attitude and Behavior Development Mr.Rabinrex,HR manager,Vasantha Advanced System 28.2.23 II ECE II
18. Engineer’s day celebration(Optimistic-Being Optimistic in issue) Mr.Clinton Henry Rozario,Director,E-commerce,Infognana Solutions 17.9.22 All Departments I
19. Field/Exposure Visit to Pre-incubation units such as Ideas Lab, Fab lab, Makers Space, Design Centres, City MSME clusters, workshops etc. Rollick Automation 2.09.22 Mechatronics Department Students I
20. Future of Business Mr.Amit Agarwal,Mr.S.Srinivasan,L & T 24.11.22 IEDC Members I